Industrial Advisory Committee

The Industrial Advisory Committee comprises external representatives from the industrial community who provide a strategic view on the School’s policies in respect of:

  • employability
  • teaching
  • research impact.

The Committee aims to provide strategic advice and seek ways to help and improve the performance and reputation of the School. Committee members act as ambassadors and raise the School’s profile with national and international bodies. The Committee also reviews the requirements of both industry and graduates to inform the School’s teaching and research strategies.


Industry members

Ms Clare Courtney (Chair) - Vodafone
Dr David Anderson - Aurecon
Mr Edel Christie - ARCADIS
Dr Peter Forsyth - Carillion Engineering and  Construction
Mr John Lonergan - Parsons Brinckerhoff
Mr Matt Lovell - Arup
Mr David Owen - Yorkshire Water  Services
Professor Peter Robery - Robery Forensics
Mr Mark Roper - CECA Ltd
Mr Chris Rushton - Costain
Mr Colin Smith - WSP Development
Mr Andrew Stiven - MWH UK Ltd
Mr Phil Studds - Ramboll UK

School members

 Professor Muhammed  Basheer - Head of School
 Dr Leon Black - Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering  Materials
 Dr Miller Camargo-Valero - Lecturer in Water and Environmental  Engineering
 Professor Cath Noakes - Director of Research
 Professor Philip Purnell - Professor of Materials and Structures
 Professor Ian Richardson - Professor of Civil Engineering Materials
 Dr Andy Sleigh - Director of Student Education
 Professor Doug Stewart - Professor of Geo-Environmental  Engineering