Industrial Advisory Board

The Industrial Advisory Board meets at least annually with the School’s senior staff members to provide strategic advice for the development of  student education, research and knowledge transfer activities.

The Committee provides a broad-based industry perspective and updates of developments within the industrial and education community to assist the School with the formulation of its teaching and research strategies. The Committee also advises on the technical expertise and professional skills that employers expect from graduates, ensuring that our students get the best employment opportunities throughout the course of their study, including placements and internships, and employment upon graduation.


Industry members

Professor I  Pollock  (Chair) - Consultant, Visiting Professor, University of Leeds
Professor S J  Abbott - Consultant, TCNF Ltd 
Mr D Baker - Academic Programme Manager, National Instruments  Corporation (UK) Ltd
Mr P Ball - Operations Manager, Medasil Surgical Ltd
Mr S Cox - Regional Engineering Delivery Manager, Balfour Beatty Rail Projects
Mr M  Cunningham - Defender Manufacturing Manager, Jaguar /Land Rover
Dr M Gee - National Physical Laboratory
Mr D Healy - Business Development Manager, IMechE
Dr S Hu - Intecsea
Professor G  Isaac - Distinguished Engineering Fellow, Hips DePuy Synthes, Leeds UK and Visiting Professor, iMBE, University of Leeds
Mr W A  Osborn MBE - Consultant (Past President IMechE)
Professor S  Shrestha - VP-Applications Development & Quality Systems, Keronite International Ltd
Professor Roger Cracknell - Shell
Mr Richard Baker - Chief of Engineering Supplier Quality, Rolls Royce
Professor Philip Threlfall-Holmes - Consultant

School members

Professor David Barton - Professor of Solid Mechanics
Dr Peter Brooks - Senior Lecturer and IMechE ALO
Professor Abbas Dehghani - Director of Postgraduate Research Studies
Professor John Fisher - Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Professor Richard Hall - Professor of Spinal Biomechanics, Postgraduate Research  Tutor
Dr Brian Henson - Director of Taught Postgraduate Studies
Dr Alison Jones -  Admissions Tutor
Professor Nik Kapur - Professor of Applied Fluid Mechanics, Deputy Head of School
Professor Martin Levesley - Professor of Dynamics and Control, Pro Dean for  Student Education
Professor Alison McKay - Professor of Design Systems
Professor Ardian Morina - Professor of Engineering Tribology, Director of Research and Innovation
Professor Anne Neville - Professor of Tribology and Surface Engineering
Dr Osvaldo Querin - Director of Student Education
Professor Robert Richardson - Director, Institute of Design, Robotics and Optimisation
Professor Harvey Thompson - Professor of Computational Fluid Dynamics, Head of School
Professor Ruth Wilcox - Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Dr Mark Wilson - Director of the Institute of Thermofluids